My Basket0

Certificate in Advanced Mortgage Advice

Extending your mortgage advice capabilities

The level 4 Certificate in Advanced Mortgage Advice goes above and beyond the FCA’s minimum qualification requirements, enabling mortgage advisers to expand their advice capabilities and advise clients with complex needs and circumstances.

The Certificate is the ideal next step for holders of the Certificate in Mortgage Advice, requiring completion of just one further unit (where units R01 and CF6 are held).

  • Mortgage advisers seeking to progress to the highest-level qualification
  • Anyone working in the mortgage market in non-advisory roles, for example, technical consultants or those in support roles

Before studying, check to see whether any of your previous academic qualifications or credits from other professional bodies and institutes can be carried towards completion of the Certificate.

Find out more about recognition of prior learning

Specific study time guidelines are provided for each unit on its webpage and in the CII qualifications brochure. The notional Ofqual ‘Total Qualification Time’ for this qualification is 230 hours. This represents the time a student might typically take to complete the qualification.

Certificate level units are a assessed by multiple choice question (MCQ) exams. For online MCQ exams, results notification is immediate on completion. For paper-based MCQ exams, results are released five weeks' following the exam sitting.

Find out more about assessments, including policies and exam centres

Qualification units are delivered through purchasing an Enrolment, equipping you with the essential materials to support core learning. For a single fee, an Enrolment typically includes: study text, assessment and access to RevisionMate, our online study tool. 

We also offer additional revision aids through purchasing Enrolment plus for most key units. These range from Key fact booklets and Question packs, to Learn online tutorials.

Due to the extent of syllabus overlap, certain combinations of current and withdrawn units will result in only one award of credits.

If a withdrawn equivalent is held you may not need to complete a current unit in order to satisfy a qualification's completion rules. Clarification should always be sought from CII Customer Service.

Find out more about credit awards for equivalent units

Completion requirements

Core units

The Certificate comprises three core units, providing a total of 55 credits on successful completion. There is no prescribed order in which units must be taken, but it is strongly recommended that you sit unit R07 last as it builds on knowledge gained from CF6.

Financial services, regulation & ethics
Credits : 20
Level : 4
Mortgage advice
Credits : 20
Level : 3
Advanced mortgage advice
Credits : 15
Level : 4